The No

By TheNo

Up

This was a race against time.

The backdrop was a gimme - the brightly-lit red staircase and white handrail enveloped by darkness. But I wanted a character, something human to emphasise the straight lines, the monotones and the weird coldness of the station.

But our train to Euston was due any second. What if a northbound train didn't arrive before ours? Could I possibly make do with the empty staircase? Would such a shot really capture anything that isn't there right now? What would be the point? There wouldn't be one. I would have failed. I might just as well throw my camera away.

But then a train to Willesden did arrive. And someone did get off and go up the stairs at exactly the right pace. And everything was all right again. Phew.

Better bigger

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.