The Rambling Path

By MuddyFox

Compass Sport Cup

Ran in the compass sport cup today! Burbage Moor, just outside Sheff so home from Aber for the weekend, hence yesterdays blip with mum. Race was great fun, not been orienteering in a while and so good to catch up with what are fast becoming seldom seen kids!

Ran the Green course, which was a perfect match for my physical and mental ability! Ran a good race, though walked towards the end due to minor injuries :o
Fell in a drainage ditch on the way to the 2nd control - completely decked it, disappearing well under the level of the bracken!! Have the bruises up my back to prove it! Women behind me kindly peered into the ditch to check I was okay.

Apart from that, had a very accurate run with only very minor mistakes. Wasn't too fast, but was concentrating on navigation. Beautiful day for it too! AND SYO won!! :D YAY!

This is a shot of a friend, original picture did include the head (! I'm not that bad an aim!) but I thought it made a more interesting image without (?)

See what you think. The heather was really tough going!

Just looked at results - if I hadn't started horribly late (they add on the time!) I would have been 2nd out of about 100!! (Time on Garmin read 50:31 (for any orienteers reading this), started and stopped a bit before and after I run, so if anything I'd have been a few seconds faster) Really happy! Though ended up 52nd on 'official' results due to lateness :( BOO!
Still, I know I did well :P

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.