Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

Something out of nothing....

....in the olden days, when I was still gainfully employed, I'd occasionally be asked to produce in-house/one-off/promotional/hopefully inspirational posters for (building construction) student notice boards. Imagine the scenario......

VALUED CUSTOMER: Those little buggers aren't turning up for site visits....d'you know, that bus I booked last week was half empty and the ones that DID turn up looked hungover....(excessive rant content deleted).....do me a favour and run me up a poster Mo.
ME: No problem m'dear......but have you got any images I can use, just using naggy text and veiled threats really won't work you know, we need a bit of visual impact to get them to read it in the first place....make it look like it's the thing to do, the place to be, happy/clappy students and all that.....
VALUED CUSTOMER: Oh yes, pictures, loads of 'em, I'll email you some good ones....

LATER.....sometimes MUCH later....I open the email image attachments with bated breath, creative juices flowing, ready to roll.....

IMAGE 1: Bleak image of a frosty building site, grey skies and not a soul in sight
IMAGE 2: Out of focus image of 2 miserable looking workers in hard hats, hands in pockets and obviously wishing for Friday
IMAGE 3: Low-res image of a bit of rusty site machinery reflected in a muddy puddle (this would be the valued customers favourite shot, I know that because he's even gone to the trouble of changing the filename to 'arty.jpg')
.....and, well, lots more of the same, you probably get the picture.....even if I didn't....

Of course sometimes I just went with the naggy text and veiled threats.........

PS The image probably needs a bit of explanation, I had the (OK-not-very-good-but-it's-so-rare-I-plan-ahead-I'm-going-with-it) idea for this one yesterday....I wrote some notes for the text on a sheet of cheap paper with a permanent CD marker then snapped the soaked through ink on the reverse this morning. It's all highly technical stuff..........I haven't lost my touch....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.