Accidental Tomatoes

By ShutterFingers

Benoit Mandelbrot RIP

I read Mandelbrot's obituary today, although he died at the weekend. One of the last century's greatest mathematicians.

It reminded me that I used to play around with the Mandelbrot Set, and other fractals, when I first got a computer at home about 20 years ago. I'm no mathematician; this was just for pleasure in the days before online shopping, YouTube, and even Blipfoto.

So I felt inspired to hack together a quick program, based on the algorithm on Wikipedia, and generate a quick Mandelbrot Set. I was planning to upload the original computer-generated image, but I've just checked the contributor rules and found that's not allowed, so a less satisfactory photo of it on my monitor will have to do instead. The original is here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.