John R Smith

By chamberlainjohn

Wimbledon it ain't

I was sitting at the desk in my study at home, pondering, when I was suddenly aware of one of those beeping sounds that vehicles make when they are launching themselves at you backwards! So engrossed was I in my work that it took me 3 seconds to be on my way - following the sound.

I didn't have far to go because when I stepped into the back garden this was what I saw.

Sorry about the net - it is all that protects us from daily pelting with little yellow balls. But in my massive ignorance I had really never considered the possibility that the ersatz grass that covers the tennis court would be lifted and laid like any old carpet.

Which just goes to prove - the day you don't learn something new is a day wasted!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.