FortyTwo

By 42

Hold the line please... (lines #2)

Our recent house move went really smoothly EXCEPT for getting BT to activate our telephone line so we could get broadband installed.

I've been meaning to blip about the whole painful experience and total crapness of BT's customer service for a while. So, for those of you who aren't interested in the rant, please scroll down for the LOTD :-)

- * - * - * - * - * - * - * -

Here is a timeline of my experiences with BT. Kept as objective as possible and all the cursing removed:

Tuesday 15 Oct

Calling BT to place order and create account. On hold for about 20 minutes before getting connected. Told that I would get a call back from the new accounts team if any problems, otherwise service would start on Friday 19 October after previous account had been stopped. Sounds good. Too good to be true as I was to find out.

Friday 19 Oct (moving day)

Calling 3 times during afternoon. On hold for more than 90 minutes in total. No details, information or assistance given. Was told on one occasion that there was already a line at this address but not in my name or the previous occupier. No attempt to find my order or offer any assistance.

17:50 - Different tack, tried calling the sales team. Got through quickly. Explained story and was put through to a long on hold queue without explaining what was going to happen. On hold for 15 minutes and then gave up.

18:30 - Calling again. On hold for 25 minutes. Being told the "systems were down" and they could not find my order by my mobile number (I was not given an order number). Advised to call back tomorrow morning.

Saturday 20 Oct

10:55 - Called again. On hold for 30 minutes. Finally spoke to, who could not assist as the "systems were down". He did confirm my order number though... Could not explain what the problem was or why I had not had a call back. They took my mobile number (again). Apparently, I will get a call back this afternoon or tomorrow. I was told that the line would definitely not be active by tomorrow. I explained I had to change Sky installation appointment because BT had not done what they had promised.

11:40 - Called to complain about customer service. On hold for about 15 minutes. When I got through an adviser apologised and gave me the direct number of a team who would be able to assist. Although I used the words. "would like to complain", "terrible customer service" and "would like to speak to a manager", they did not escalate my call or offer any real assistance.

Sunday 21 Oct

15:55 - Calling BT again. On hold for 45 minutes. Long conversation with an "adviser". They apparently have computer software problems at their end, so cannot create new accounts or check status of order. Whilst we were on the phone, the software started working. Checking order, which has a "pending" status - I said IO know that, but why was it was pending and when would it not be pending? Cannot help any more or tell me why. Transferring me to the service department on internal line. On hold again at 16:47. Giving up at 17:30.

Monday 22 Oct

09:14 - On hold again. Giving up at 09:36. Will try again this evening.

18:10 - On hold for at least 25 minutes. Spoke to an adviser who could not advise anything. Giving up for the day.

Tuesday 23 Oct

One long on hold experience for the whole of lunchtime. Didn't even manage speak to anyone. Giving up. Found out that Watchdog had done a report on BT's terrible customer service. Found website and followed link to special site BT had set up. Submitted pointed feedback and site promised someone would call me back within 24 hours.

Wednesday 24 Oct

Shock horror, BT called me today to promise that the 'phone line would be active by Friday. Hmmm. Heard that before. Fingers crossed though...

Friday 26 Oct

The phone line works! Bring on broadband (oh - that'll be another two weeks sir... AAAAAARGGHHH)

Total on hold time > 6 hours!!


- * - * - * - * - * - * - * -

LOTD: Kiwidin's Dilemma Creek blip - magic low angle water motion shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.