Gifts of Grace

By grace

Convalescing

Don't you just love convalescence? Where you appreciate every easier breath, every moment when your attention is freed from from your runny nose, stinging eyes, the nails in your throat. Still a smidgeon of each of these around but really I am so much better.

A glorious sunny day when, having cancelled all my work commitments for the week, I went for a very slow, slightly shaky walk the two and a half (short) blocks into town noticing all the things I usually speed past.

Exciting to find that, after me lamenting the absence of a natural meeting place in the immediate neighbourhood, a cafe is opening not fifty yards from my front door. In what was formerly a pole dancing exercise studio - didn't do well, wrong demographic, I felt. Whereas tea and a scone might just do very well, I hope so. I'm all for public spaces.

Then, on account of my physical weakness, I went down a lane I've often passed and found the perfect Sit Spot. Two minutes from home, a sheltered corner on a patch of sandy beach with a stream running down to the sea - all manner of birds bathing in the fresh water and drying their wings in the nearby trees. I've lived here nearly five years and never gone down that lane before, never would have but for this blessing of a cold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.