Day by day

By LizzieBeattie

Beaton at War

I went down to the War Museum today as I had heard that photographs taken by Cecil Beaton during the war of people working in the shipyards were on display. As I arrived I saw the pictures on the right of this image which I realised were those of Beaton.
I bounced inside and announced to reception that I had come to see Cecil Beaton's photographs. The girl kindly explained to me that there were only the 6 5m high photographs which were outside. I asked where they were, and after much dimness on my side, I realised that they were on the back of the ones which I had photographed on the way in - those on the left of the picture.
I hope that it is not too confusing.

During the war, an industry which had been in depression with about only 30,000 employees, rose to 270,000 to build the much needed ships to bring in the goods and food which were so badly needed. Even women were allowed to work in "Men's jobs" - see the girl welder photographed on Tyneside.

Not being a fan of war, I didn't go in to see the exhibition of stories of the war at sea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.