This Reeling Day

By kkaulakh

Breathe and Shut Up

That's what our petite Tango instructor demanded of us at our farewell dinner as we limbered up.

After a live show of Tango music and dancing and the practical experience of stepping on boy's toes, I'm itching to Tango more. It's a very graceful dance when done correctly, not to mention elegant and sensual. Stepping in heels made it easy to flex my calves through pointed toes though it's been months since I've worn them so blisters were to be expected. Stilettos also helped me lean into my partner, as closeness is essential to Tango. Our hearts, our strict and pointedly pretty teacher taught us, must face each other.

While an all women Tango band executed passionate accordion led performances, practiced dancers put my classmates and I to shame as they waltzed around the dance floor, eyes closed, legs entwined, speaking without words.

My aunt and uncle with whom I visit in California like friends came to BsAs to visit me and accompanied us to the Tango lesson. It was incredibly fun to hang out with them on a different continent, in a city with which I've grown sufficiently familiar to help steer new tourists around.

Now I'm in finals week and my friend procrastination, as he is wont to do, has turned on me.

Happy Tuesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.