dailykeith

By dailykeith

Glorious

Nature put on a spectacular show today and, although it was frustrating not to be able to capture most of it on camera, it was still a joy to see.

I started the day early - 5.15am to be precise - to catch the train to Cheltenham. And what a glorious vista from the train window.

Dawn was breaking and the black sky slowly took on a blue tinge before the whole horizon became a magnificent gold and red. As the darkness dissipated, the landscape took shape and revealed a blanket of white frost. Cows were huddling around bales of hay.

Heading from the station to the office, the sky was pure gold and I took the image above as I arrived in town.

The show went on through the day. On one occasion, I was walking across the office floor and was literally stopped in my tracks by the sight through the large windows of the nearby St Gregory's Church lit up by late afternoon sun - its Cotswold stone stood out wonderfully against dark clouds above Cleeve Hill.

In the other direction, the Malvern Hills looked bolder and more dramatic than I had seen them for ages.

To round off the day, there was a breathtaking sunset before the sky was lit up again by a stunningly bright moon.

I know it sounds as though my own head is up in the clouds, but days like today really make you happy to be walking around this amazing planet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.