Nir Levy Photography

By nir

Motivation

I feel like I had a low point of the semester today. Got a mid term back with less than steller results but it could have been worse I suppose. Realized I'm letting extra-curricular stuff distract me too much again. Mean while, I can't stop myself and had a brief meeting with a student with the media clubs at Emory like Emory's radio and tv channel, they need a website. Also got a call for a web marketing company, Red Ventures, and I'm meeting with an SVP tomorrow. So I sent an email an decided to ditch one project and emailed the professor and made an appointment to meet on Monday. But then I got right to work, and spent the evening doing my reading very carefully for Childhood Sociology. Interesting argument for why No Child Left Behind is a total disaster. Apparently, kids with severe disabilities, even ones with degenerative problems must continue to improve in order for the school to get funded. Those teachers are forced to lower goals for children with disabilities. It was nice doing the reading outdoors in front of Lulwater lake, brought my camera with me but ended up catching this cool shot of a mini cooper from my balcony so I'm using that instead.

College is filled with distractions. Do I get the best value from isolating myself in my room studying or from meeting people and making connections and doing things/making things with them? Balance is obviously the answer, but I don't know why I find it so hard? Sometimes I feel like I never learned how to study effectively compared to my peers at Emory. I'm motivated and I desperately want to beat the average.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.