the non-human interest angle

Although I haven't looked though all my old pre-digital pictures for a while (probably not since poking through a few files to pick out some to scan back when I was preparing to buy a scanner (mostly for the purpose of digitising and thus preserving all my old photochemical prints (which I still have to get round to doing)) well over three years ago) I'm not certain that I ever really took any picture just for the sheer geometric hell of it. I can remember some that were in it for the light and shadow, some for the colour, some for the human behaviour, some for the view and a lot just to record an instant but can't remember ever capturing an arrangement just as the shapes or lines it contained. I maybe thought too often about how each exposure cost just over 3% of whatever I was paying for a film and its subsequent processing back in those days. As those days were mostly child-days and student-days it was at least a slightly sensible consideration although when I consider what I've wasted money on over the years I could probably have afforded a few extra films here and there and experimented a little more.

Still, no point dwelling on the lost past when there are plenty of nice shapes all over the place and modern electronic film-equivalence is too cheap to fret over. Maybe when I get round to looking through the pictures again I'll re-discover that I did just sometimes go for the lines. I'm sure I would have remembered though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.