CanCarrier

By CanCarrier

In which Winnie the Poo(h) goes to Multrees Walk.

If you think this is a blip about a rubber dog sh!t and a cartoon dog you'd only be half right.

This blip is about freedom, sexism, and the wonders of Blipland.

Today I walked up to Multrees Walk and put Winnie the Poo(h) and my cartoon dog in various places throughout the little street and took various photos. At one point I was trying to get the street sign in when a security guard wandered by. He saw the piece of paper and the rubber dog sh!t and walked past. Then he saw me with my camera. I smiled at him and said 'Excuse me'. He took a step away from Winnie. I said; 'You can be in the shot if you like'. He looked confused, and then walked away. (folio pic).

This scenario panned out very differently a week last wednesday when Man Mountain or Fish tried to take photos in the area.

When Rancidand first introduced me to this site I said I thought the most interesting journals would be the ones that had something to say. I very rarely have anything to say. Today I have something I would like to share with you.

I may have received a different reception because the security folk at Multrees Walk have had a word with themselves. However I am convinced that part of the reason I got no hassle is simply because I am female, and our culture does not hassle females in this manner.

When Blippers talk about the wonders of Blip, they talk about how it has opened their eyes to the world around them. That they are learning about their camera. That they have made friends all over the world and seen things that would otherwise be outside their experience.

I would like to say that one of the true wonders of Blips is something we all take so much for granted that no one ever comments on it. Freedom of speech. Freedom of expression. Freedom to share, and show and see and be seen.

I would like to thank Meles for suggesting this Blip idea (did I do a good job?), and Joe Tree for giving me a place to be silly whilst saying something I think is important.

Have a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.