Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Grandpa and Inge

Friday daddy day! After I took Nienke and Inge to school, I went to my parents' place together with Ellis. And since she had a lot of fun there, I took Nienke and Inge there too after school. On Fridays, they only go to school in the mornings so in the afternoon me and the girls were all at my parents' place until it was time to go to Nienke's swimming lesson. I took lots of pictures of the girls playing. This one stood out for me, a picture showing my dad and Inge who are on the internet looking for colouring pictures to print.

I almost blipped something entirely different: a picture of needle-nose pliers. These particular pliers had been missing in action for about 15 years. They belong to my dad and he has always been certain that I had borrowed them from him and then lost them. Until this week, when they reappeared: my dad found them on top of the garage door opener that was put up 15 years ago and stopped working recently. The pliers were rusty and dusty on one side (the side exposed to air); the other side was in really good shape. A running gag at Christmas for the last 14 years (where my dad always would tell how disappointed he was for not getting new needle-nose pliers from me as a Christmas present) now comes to an end. One would expect an apology for me having to put up with 15 years of slander, but no such thing :-)

In the end, I liked the picture of my dad and Inge better... It makes a nice addition to the image of my dad and Nienke at his birthday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.