Bicycle adventure under the canopy

The sun was shining and I had to get out. I dug out the thermals, the gloves and the hat, and set off with Fred to catch the train to Orpington. Once there, we cycled up several large hills under wooded canopies of green leaves and falling beech nuts (they all missed us, thankfully). I spotted a nuthatch, parakeets, jays, red kites, blue tits, long-tailed tits and lots of other wee birds that passed too quickly to be identified.

We had lunch at Christmas Tree Farm, where we watched the planes from Biggin Hill Airport fly overhead. I was amused to see the rhea in the field next to our picnic bench watching every plane, too. This is the closest I've been to a rhea. When I holidayed in Patagonia almost four years ago, these birds ran gracefully alongside the car, disappearing into the horizon - the grey of their feathers mingling with the colours of the plain.

Further along on our journey we visited Down House, the home of Charles Darwin, which is now a museum to him and his scientific theories. The exhibits have been revamped from the time I'd last visited and they now include an augmented-reality Darwin projection so it looks like you're really seeing him on The Beagle. Brilliant! I enjoyed walking around the garden. It's amazing to walk amongst the trees that Darwin planted so long ago.

A cream tea at the cafe later, and we set off home with a view of autumn trees and the Crystal Palace mast to guide us on our way. A lovely day, all the better for being a bit nippy with autumnal sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.