fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

The Cookoo Clock

This clock has been in my family ever since I have been so over sixty years. I don't know the history behind it which is a shame. I do know my mom once told me about it , but I was a half listening kid then and didn't retain what she told me. Could kick myself now as all the loved ones who would know about this clock have passed away now. But I do know it was on the kitchen wall and coo cooed each hour on the hour and on each half hour. My bedroom was right above the kitchen so I was the main recipient of all these blasted coo coos. A little birdie would come out the door on the top too and go in and out. In high school I hated this dang noise as, being the light sleeper I WAS, it bothered me to no end. I used to go down and dismantle the black "pine cones" that hung from the chains that ran the coo coo on it. Each morning my mom would be mad as hec and ask who had done that---knowing full well that it was me...even though I knew I'd be in hot water...I still did it because it was soooooooooooo annoying. Of all the things from my parents home after they died...this is what my son---the gander of the blip The Goose and the Gander asked to have. So today, after nine years since they have died, I unwrapped it. I'm going to see about getting it all fixed up so it can ANNOY him and the Goose for years and years now:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.