Robbie's Roots

By robertfelton

Chaffinch

Another fine day and I was hoping to get out for a stroll in order to blip something other than birds in the garden. Alas it was not to be so I've ended up with a mixed box of bird captures.

I haven't seen any Chaffinches in the garden this year so I bought some sunflower seeds and set up a few feeding stations, the Chaffinch(es) soon arrived. One thing I've always found with chaffinches is that they are pretty bold and will come close to feed so I placed a pile of seed on the patio. This Chaffinch soon arrived and began to feed, but I hadn't bargained for the position of the sun which I was shooting directly into - der! This image was taken later in the day but by this time the light was pretty poor and the image not so sharp but I've blipped it anyway because of all the planning that went into it.

Please View Large

A couple of images that I think are probably technically better but I've blipped Starlings and Robins many times before. Another 1st was a brief appearance of a Coal Tit (very poor capture not posted) and just as the light was finally going a troop of Long Tailed Tits scuttled through briefly stopping at the feed station. Finally took an image of the Sunset before going in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.