sonic booom!

By sonicbooom

Dad

I've been bad. Not been on Blip for days... weeks even. Still taking pictures, just not been uploading everyday! Anyway, I've been spending time with family the past few days so will get some shots uploaded when I'm back in London.

I'm close to buying a new lens, the Canon 24-70mm f2.8. I want to improve one area of my photography: portraits. I don't think you need specific equipment to get better- the 50mm f1.8 takes stunning shots and is only £90, but the 24-70 has the versatility I'm looking for. Hopefully I'll have more portraits for Blip in good time!

Anyway, this photo is an old shot of my dad, and as part of my research into different photographers I've discovered a guy called Andrzej Dragan. He's famous for his portrait style, and most notably, the kind of post-processing effect he uses in Photoshop. Having looked at a few others mimicking his style I've decided it's to be used sparingly - it can look awful if overdone. It can look like bad HDR, and make faces look wax-like if over done. Used wisely and you can bring out some fantastic detail, especially with older faces. Not a fan of over processing images but it's quite fun to play around either way. Tried it on an old shot of my dad, taken with my trusty old 1000D!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.