a town called E.

By Eej

Here fishy, fishy. Or, the trout-whisperer.

Yesterday I surprised the Beloved with telling him I had the day off today. Lucky for him, he responded with the exact right amount of joy and appreciation ;)

This morning we woke up to find one of our pumpkins stolen from the front porch. Waw!
I hope you choke on it, you thief! Or, if you carve it up, I hope you carve out a piece of your finger! HA!
But, it gave us an extra reason to go see Gene the Pumpkinman again, and how could that be anything but seven shades of awesome?
We talked, and talked, and talked some more. We might go back if he's still open after Halloween for fresh pumpkins for Thanksgiving, though supplies are shrinking fast! Which means business is good, and that's what we want for Gene :)

Then we went up to Wolf Lake, that looked like a shiny mirror on this warm(70F/21C!) october day.

As I was taking photos from a very low angle, sitting down on the boat ramp, I saw a ripple in the water moving towards the shore ... and me. I yelled "JAWS" at the Beloved, and laughed, thinking it was the wind.
It wasn't.
It was a giant trout! (which is clearly not AS exciting as a shark, but close ;))

Now, where I sat, the water was between 3 and 6 inches deep, and this fish stuck out with half its body and we could see the trail it left in the sand with its fins. It swam around for a bit, not in any hurry and then moseyed on.

I am not an expert on fish and fish behaviour, but the hubby said he's never seen a wild trout so close to shore, so I'm choosing to believe it sensed I'm a nice person (who doesn't eat trout) and came up to say 'HI' and wave its fins at me.
And that's why I chose this photo over a few others.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.