The Tenacious Tenderfoot

By oliver

All through this hour...

Taken at exactly 18:00:00 BST - which I say with some certainty, due to being a radio-controlled clock so therefore synced with an atomic clock. Bit geekish, I know, but I am a stickler for the exact time, liking things to run perfectly on time... So much so my computer auto-updates hourly and my phone has a similar synchroniser also.

Like, for instance the Big Ben time signal. I was listening to BBC Radio 4 (and no, not on 198LW), a not-too-common phenomena amongst 19-year-olds, born in a generation of TV-loving couch potatos.

It was fast approaching the hour... The chimes of Big Ben began to herald the Six O' Clock news - it was this quintessentially British sound which is what inspired me to capture this. In the twenty seconds-or-so it took to ring the Westminster Quarters, I leapt in to action - camera phone on and at the ready focused on my bedroom wall clock and SNAP. Done bang on the stroke of 6pm.

Clocks go back this Sunday (Hallowe'en), an hour extra in bed - but an hour less of daylight - as if our evenings were darkening early enough already.

Oh just two months 'til Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.