memento

By memento

The end of the line for Nutkins McSpeedy

He thought the oak tree across the street looked better than the one on his side of the street so he made a go for it.

The bad news is, for the first time in all my life, I ran over a squirrel today. The good news is that he perished instantly-I know this because I pulled over and watched him for fifteen minutes thinking that he was moving but it was just the stiff breeze whipping his tail around and ruffling his fur. I then picked him up by his tail and moved him next to the curb so he wouldn't become squirrel pizza by the end of the day.

I cried while running my various errands, feeling horrible that I snuffed out his life-even if he did jump out in front of me with no warning and gave me no time to break-hoping he didn't feel any pain.

RIP Nutkins. Of all the streets you had to cross mine at that precise moment.

Other than that the day was good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.