surely you can see

By petergarver

What would a film month be without a paintcan pinhole camera? This is a 4x5 negative that I exposed on my way back from an important meeting at city hall. It took me a while to figure it out, but I'm pretty sure that the intense exposure on the right is flare - I remembered the angle of view on a 4x5 negative as being a little less wide than this and figured flare wouldn't be a problem - guess I was wrong! The sun was not too far out of the frame in this shot.

If this seems like a heinous waste of 4x5 film, it is, but I have a box and it's expired, so I think this is an adequate way for it to end its days.

This was the only film picture I exposed yesterday, but it was the second-most film I've exposed in a day so far this month(this 4x5 is equal to about 3/4 of a roll of 120).

The dark corners are, of course, the masking tape I used to tape the film to the inside of the can. The shutter is a piece of duct tape, and works well. The pinhole is made from the classic pinhole medium of a beer can, and I believe it's about .35mm, or F/300 for this paint can. Exposure time here was about a minute on expired ASA400 film (I calculated 8 seconds, went to 25 for reciprocity and doubled it for 4 year old film - the negative ended up a bit dense.).

Also, this is the only image on blipfoto tagged 4x5 - could it be the first large format blip ever? If so, sorry. You deserved better. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.