Plus ça change...

By SooB

Gunpowder, Treason and Plot

A little while ago I came across a useful site on the internet with interactive history for kids. So we did the Gunpowder plot, a tale I remember enjoying as a kid. Of course no-one explained to me about burning people, so I guess I just thought they got a good telling off and maybe no pocket money that week. My kids got the full gory version. I will balance it another time with tales of 'Bloody Mary'.

I sort of assumed that, in a nominally Catholic country we wouldn't be 'celebrating' the 5th of November by burning a nominal Catholic (the Guy) in our garden. The kids may have other ideas. Either that or I'm reading too much into this and they've just been watching Ray Mears again with their Dad.

Home school was a little fraught this morning, but with the tactical use of a substitute teacher (Mr B) and several cups of strong tea, we got through it and - I think - some learning was achieved. The afternoon was mostly, err, PE (that just means running around in the garden - but they weren't fighting so I think I can put a big tick against 'social skills' too. In fact at dinner they announced that they'd made a pinkie promise to be friends forever.)

Mr B's parents arrive later tonight for a very short visit. I'm expecting fireworks (and I don't mean the kind you might be banned from bringing through customs). However, to end on a promising note, Mrs B snr did call to ask if they were allowed to bring a tin of sweeties through as hand luggage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.