nina54

By nina

Surprising myself - and others, too

Big day today. The opening reception of my exhibition. When I had my first meeting about the exhibition, the gallery people asked me if I would give a speech at the opening. I said that absolutely no, I'm not someone who likes to give speeches.

I have been in this this same thought since then. The last two days have been like crazy and I have been nervous. I have been really struggling with breathing, why is it so terribly difficult sometimes?

Today I suddenly thought that I could write a speech and then just play with the idea of giving it. So I wrote the speech and went to sit on my balcony to read what I had written.

After a while I thought that all this is such a spectacle and started laughing. What else could I do to make even a bigger spectacle?

Yes, after the speech I would ask everyone to look for a partner, stand straight in front of him or her and look each other in the eyes. Then I would show everybody how to breath deeply first in through your nose and lift your breath with a move of your hand. Then how to breath out slowly and at the same time keep your mouth a bit open and say hhhaaa, pushing your breath down again with a hand move.

This idea made made me laugh even more. What would people think! Those who knows about this would probably do it easily, but those who never even thought that breathing was something special would certainly think that now poor Nina has gone completely mad.

More laughing.

Out at 13.10PM, at the hairdresser at 14PM, meeting Barbro and the camera man there. Changing clothes, driving to the gallery together. Arriving to the gallery, first guests arriving at 17PM.

At the opening I had already forgotten about the speech when Barbro gently push me to give it. And believe it or not, I did exactly as I'd thought. And everyone was breathing beautifully. What a moment! What a silence!

I had really surprised myself for doing that, giving a speech - and making people connect in the moment.

Here is my speech:

"Dear guests, my sons Joni and Joel, all my closest and friends,

Most of you know that I have had an extremely heavy summer and fall. That is why I want to tell you a story that Barbro told me in June when my situation was as its hardest.

It goes like this:

There was an indian (American indian) grandfather who told a story to his grandchild. The story went like this:

"In a human's heart there are two wild animals. The other one lives of hatred, revenge, anger and fear. It is an unhappy animal. The other one lives of love, hope, faith and courage. This animal is happy. There is a constant battle between these two animals."Then the grandchild asked his grandfather: "So which one wins?" The grandfather answered: "The one you feed."

I wanted to tell this story because since June the 10th I have been in a harsh school, where I have concentrated in feeding the happy animal. And that has been a lot more difficult than feeding the unhappy animal.

It has required an immense devotion; I have taken in all the pain, let it billow over me and finally been able to rise above the pain.

This would not had been possible, at least not in such a short time, without my mentor Sergey. He has showed me the path and I have worked my way through.

I want to thank my sons Joni and Joel, who have been my unclenched support, and Barbro who has walked with me my whole journey. Thank you also to my all dear closest and friends : Momba, Kate, Stina, Berith, Kimi, Sanna and everyone who has supported me. I feel deep love towards you. Most of all I feel a huge gratitude and humbleness towards life.

Thank you all for coming here to celebrate the opening of my exhibition, it would not had been possible without your help."


I took about 6 shots the whole evening. I almost forgot to do it in the first place. In this shot in the middle is Hermanni, who ordered a print from me. On the left is Carla and on the right is Olli.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.