dsyglsy

By dsyglsy

pumpkins

tonight was pumpkin carving night for the kids and b - me, I prefer a neep and if I have the time and strength (it's hard work!) I will do one before sunday. the smell of burning neep is pure childhood halloweens for me. we had loads of great halloweens growing up, our parents always put a lot of effort into costumes and this has definitely rubbed off on us.

one particular year we went to an outdoor activity centre at balmaha on loch lomond with loads of our parents friends and their kids. the centre we stayed in was a huge redbrick house with a sweeping staircase and dorm-style rooms with bunkbeds and the parents decided to do a haunted house for the kids. they decorated the upstairs of the house with spooky lights and music, turned off the lights and we took it in turns to go up the huge staircase into the darkness. I managed to get near the top of the staircase where I saw my dad hanging from a rope pretending to be dead with a spotlight on his face from below....I never did see the rest of the haunted house having done a complete u-turn back down the stairs...now that's the kind of effort I like at halloween!

maybe that's also why I can often be found rocking in a corner, haha.

anyhoo, I was going to blip the three great pumpkins that the girls made but you can see them in b's blip here.

instead I liked this scary face that peggy drew...don't fancy meeting this lady on a dark night...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.