nogbad's blips

By nogbad

Huh?

No idea what happened this evening. I took some shots during the day - nothing earth-shattering but I had a plan for one which I was reasonably pleased with. I plugged the camera into the PC and downloaded and then cleared the camera card only to find that I couldn't find the images and I'd lost the originals. Goodness me but I said a rude word; certainly something our dear Queen wouldn't use in church.

So I needed to do something quickly and I fell upon the idea of creating a scale model of the famous Defence Early Warning Station at RAF Fylingdales high on the North Yorkshire moors. My model shows the iconic "golf ball" radars in place until 1980. They were replaced by a rather drab slab of concrete which actually looks very like the "sound mirrors" at Hythe.

So there you are. No expense spared in creating a historic model of Cold War Britain in order to entertain my fellow blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.