The Messy Room

By miketoons

Looking west from Roundway Hill

I should visit Roundway Hill more often. This view is only a mile away from where I live and, if you get the weather right, as I did today...

It's walkable from my house but I hate the narrow road, used as a rat-run by speeding motorists. A safer option is to drive up to the top and park, along with the dog walkers, at the end of the bumpy track. I took the safer option this afternoon.

I chatted to a couple of friendly model glider enthusiasts up there. Today was ideal conditions for it, I was told: a light westerly breeze. I also found out why radio controlled gliders make such weird and delightful noises: any turbulence noise caused by little gaps and hinges on the wing resonates in the hollow wing structure. And each glider makes a different sound. There's an opportunity here for an enterprising composer to come up with a symphony for radio controlled gliders.

This shot doesn't feature the glider enthusiasts but it was the best light of the bunch of pix I took. Here's a link to some other photos on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.