Fame?

A rather sad blip for today. I met Tom, my Chew & Chat pal, this evening for one of our get-togethers. I got the bus in to town and was walking to Dawson Street when I saw the unmistakeable faces of the Jedward twins on an enormous banner in a prime location at the far side of O'Connell Street. How sad is it that an apparently serious charity should latch on to the passing bandwagon of this pair in the hopes that their endorsement will result in an inflow of funds? I think it's very sad, and I do not at all like having this eyesore deface such a prominent site.

In other news, I made my way over to the garage to pick up my car. The Service Manager guy proved to be as good as his word and gave me ll the discounts he promised. The total bill, including diagnostics, parts and labour, came to less than what had originally been quoted for the parts alone. Still a lot of money, but yet I came away satisfied with the outcome.

Tom and I went to Il Posto restaurant for our Chew & Chat. Our starters and desserts were fine, but the main course was adequate at best. All a bit pricey too, I thought. We had our usual great time, with non-stop chat from 7.45 until 2.30 am (we finished up, as usual, in our favourite little Japanese bar. I was all set to deploy my best diplomatic skills, since Tom had been the one who recommended Marseille to us and I couldn't not let him know how desperately disappointed we'd been in the place. We were both so relaxed that I got the Marseille business out of the way before we sat down to the meal, and Tom was just fine about our negative reaction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.