OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

East from Stromness

I headed into Stromness quite early and volunteered all day with the RSPB. We went to Durkadale in Birsay, where we removed a stretch of invasive salmonberry, repaired fences and collected nettle rhizomes. These are for planting on reserves to encourage the return of the corncrake. We went to Marwick and did some planting.

I went back to Stromness with one of the RSPB people and we found some waxwings were feeding on fruit left for them in the office garden. Alan, RSPB guy, set up his net and we caught six which were ringed and released. Fantastic birds close up.

Unfortunately I had only my little camers which seems to drain batteries extraordinarily quickly, and had done so earlier, so I could'nt get shots of the process.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.