Instography

By Instography

Conical

This afternoon, heading back from the mosque with wingpig and TFP, making our way down Kings Stables Road, a casual glance, attracted by the graffiti perhaps, caused me to turn my head a little and something caught my eye, something reflective, the Scotchlite band just visible below the covering of cardboard, in the recess of the archway and as I continued walking towards it I saw a cone. An abandoned, rejected cone. It's weighty foot lost, making it unable to perform its traditional function. Perhaps a vehicle inexpertly driven by an impatient youth or delivery driver, or an old person whose vision or spatial awareness was failing, had caught the cone and dragged it, with it only getting free of the car when its foot was torn away. Without thinking, I nudged my companions. "Ya dancer" I whispered under my breath, raising my camera at the same time and instinctively pressing the shutter even before the viewfinder was to my eye.

Bidding farewell and walking back to the office I was delighted at my capture, knowing that I had the photo I had been seeking for days but at the same time appalled at my delight, knowing that its source was a cone's misfortune.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.