Photo a day for 2010

By kusasi

Glove compartment

Difficult day today on a number of levels - significantly, I signed documents and sent them to my solicitor which should finally see the consent order settled and the assets from the house sale shared far from equally between us. It also sets in motion the divorce proceedings. Certainly a day of reflection - I have no doubt I am doing the right thing, even if "right" isn't exactly the right word ...

During the day I looked into my glove compartment, took a photo and thought it told an interesting story. I really don't want to use this photo, partly because out of necessity it means dwelling on the difficult times, but as the end of the day approached it was clear I had nothing else to use.

So here goes ... it's an uncluttered glove compartment that holds just three things: owner's manual (fairly standard), shiny purple iPod (very me, and a lifesaver today - it took a few blasts of They Might be Giants to finally snap me out of my difficult mood which had lingered all day) and, er, wedding ring.

Why the wedding ring? The truth is, I have no idea what to do with it. I haven't resorted to one of those Cash for Gold options yet, it just doesn't seem right. But I don't want it in the house. Daft isn't it? This house is my present and my future, and the wedding ring is a sad reminder of my past. Odd though it may seem, I think I might leave it in the glove compartment for now. Although, on second thoughts, having advertised this to possibly tens of people (yes, I know how many hits this gets and the server hasn't exactly gone into meltdown yet), I may be looking for another safe place for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.