CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Inspired by Keith

Wind is shredding leaves from the branches today, while the grey skies forewarn of the progressive limiting of the light. I wanted to go to the Stroudwater canal and find the bridge that dailykeith so wonderfully photographed and put on Flickr, many moons ago, at least 2 years BB (Before Blip). It features centrally in his birthday blip today.

Keith introduced me to Blipfoto. I had introduced myself to him, after I saw some of his photos of the local canal and his admired misty bridge shot. I contacted him by email and we chatted and then met for a drink, and chatted, and then met for a walk to the Heavens and the Horns, and then a few more drinks. One day, I dragged him out to photograph the famous steam engine Bittern, 60019, as it travelled down the Golden Valley beside the canal, pulling a special train. It wasn't hard, as the canal and the train pass on yards from where he lives.

It was at our local, the Crown and Sceptre, where he told me about blipping. While I was at the bar, he sneaked a shot of my back, the dirty rat, to be his blip that day! I subsequently observed his online efforts and found I enjoyed the words as much as the pictures. Some weeks later, I suddenly decided to commit, to partake and to pluck up courage and start writing again. For that, I am so very grateful to Keith, for he showed me the way.

This picture was taken on top of the next bridge up the canal from Ham Mill, looking west. This is part of the section of canal that is being re-opened over the next three years. Helena is worried that the wildlife and landscape will be terribly altered, but I am sure that the loss will be minimal. In fact the dredging of the canal's trench and the tidying of the right-hand bank will make the water quality much healthier. The banks to the left, up the hillside to Bownham, will be untouched.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.