Club 107

By club107

Autumnal pale rather than explosive colours

It is not always bursts of stunning yellows, reds and brown in autumn sometimes it is pretty drab beiges and hints of colours past. Similarly, despite being what I would like to think an eternal optimist, a pretty positive sort of guy, sometimes one gets worn down through fatigue, illness or some atrocious daytime television. Thankfully I was only affected by two of these today and I felt a tad off colour.

The day started sharp at around 2.30am when my resident hot water bottle/child #2 couldn't get to sleep having been awoken by a 'sound'.

'Daddy, what was that noise?' she asked.
'Erm, I actually don't know. I think it must have been the creak of a floorboard.' I replied eyes barely open.
'Daddy, can we have some noise so that I'm not scared?' she continued.
'Sure, I'll go an put on the television, it is only 2.45 in the morning.'

Ok so I didn't actually say exactly that but I certainly thought it.

Unfortunately, I wasn't getting back to sleep, until I just about dozed off on the bus and nearly missed my stop.

So the term walkin round like a half shut knife would adequately describe my demeanour today. And as night follows day, the routine of quiet weekends at club107 still hasn't managed to kick in just yet. Frequent viewers will have noticed that we burn the candle at both ends when it comes to weekends. Our next weekend off, assuming that simply having to do some Christmas shopping is a definition of a quiet weekend, comes at the end of November. It is going to be a long Novemeber, but, remember I am an optimist, so bring it on.

Incidentally I did see some spectacular leaves today, which I wanted to photograph, but these ones tied in with how I felt. Imagine my surprise when someone at work said 'Goodness, you look like a tired pile of leaves!'

14°



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.