Drama in the Skies

A busy, busy day that started with volunteering at my daughter's school for the morning and help get the kids ready for the Halloween Parade. On my way into the classroom, I saw a large bird making a big flap in a small tree on campus. It was a red-tailed hawk trying to get a squirrel. I'm fascinated by birds of prey and watched the hawk off-and-on for nearly 45 minutes as he tried to get that squirrel in the tree. I'd never seen a wild hawk so close up and actually hunting. I don't think it ever caught the squirrel; soon, hundreds of excited children filled the schoolyard in their costumes and no doubt scared the hawk away. I wish I'd had a better lens with me for capturing that hawk. It looks quite small on the the shots I did get. Later on the way home from the grocery store, however, the dramatic skies caught my eye. We don't often get clouds like this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.