last call

For the third (and hopefully final) time, crappyphonecam (my painfully poor-quality Bliptool for a short period last year) will shortly be switched off and stuck in a cupboard somewhere with those which came before and the broken bodies of the two handsets which succeeded it but which met untimely ends.

As the newbie takes tolerable pictures it should hopefully be able to serve as a stand-in if (PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE NO) propercamera ever needs to be sent off for repair (though as it is not shite or packed with Known Faults like the s9500 was I do not expect this to happen anytime soon). I can also now read and write the internet (and of course blip) without need of a computer so need no longer worry about finding internet cafés with working USB ports when on holiday. With a bit of flash card finangling I can also use pictures taken with propercamera (and possibly even transfer text typed with the small but QWERTY keyboard of my Jornada) for the latter purpose. Most marvellous is the fact that I can still use my proper nice fast internet when the computer at home is occupied via the marvellousness of mobile wi-fi.

I did wonder about recycling; if I ever need a spare phone there's always the 6310i which preceded the 6230 (the 3210, its charger and manual were traded-in to negate the upgrade fee for the K800) and Nicky's old 6230i still survives although its battery is currently acting as a spare for my mother's handset.

I'll probably keep it though.

Just in case.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.