Black and White

Today was one of those back and white days. Paths and crossroads, decisions made, outcomes defined.

+ Bike ride or not. Yes, last ride before next weeks race. I set off at 7.30am, in very windy conditions
+ Top of the Port Hills. Continue the loop or not? Yes, despite the wind. Turn right at the top of Kennedys Bush, down Gebbies, along to Governors bay, back over Dyers Pass.
+ At end of Port Hills. Keep going or not? No, too windy, turn back and ride back down
+ Worsleys track. Ride down or carry onto Dyers Pass Road? Track, always rutted and challenging, but I'll take it easy. Shorter way home. Worsleys it is.

Mistake. Worsleys is challenging, very rutted and very rocky and once again it got the better of me. Missing a rut I got caught between two and had to make a decision. Bike turned right, I turned left, and proceeded to leave the bike in a downhill orientation, landing on a rock on my left shoulder. Scrapes and bruises everywhere. Fortunately I was alone, the language was not pretty.

Picked myself up, rode home, iced the wounds for 30 minutes, bandaged the worst bits and headed to work. Bugger, exactly what I didn't need 4 days before a race. Silly silly me.

However, got work done and some planning and by evening it's feeling somewhat OK. Decided I need a wine to dull the pain.

Anyway, the point was to test the bike post service. All good. Get back into the eating while on the bike regime. All good. And test out the new electrolyte fluids. All good. Ready to race. Mostly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.