Northern Exposure

By Northern

Shelter

I dithered and wavered and blip blagged with skatergirl before finally getting my act together and making myself get out on my bike but I finally went.

It was cold, gale force wind but dry.

Then, came the moment on the far side of the island when I realised that although the leaden grey sky made a fabulous backdrop for a photograph of the sheep shelter and the berries, it wasn't going to be quite so pleasant to cycle home in.

I did an about turn and tried to race it. Not fast enough. As the wind driving the clouds caught me I was buffeted and bullied. Invisible hands pushed my bike sideways and the only way to try to stay in control was to pedal faster... and not go anywhere.

Then came the hail. Fists of ice and needles of frozen rain. I was reminded of someone on Mull who once told me of rain that made holes in yer face.

I wimped out and took refuge in the bus shelter. It was better than nothing but it was actually raining inside the bus shelter with the wind driving the rain up the outside and through the gaps at the top. I hid there until the clouds got bored and went to find another victim. Then I made a dash for home to a hot shower and a comforting bowl of soup.

Now... the sun is shining. Pah!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.