challenge

By jkj10

100 BLIPS! A self portrait no less.


That actually came around much quicker then i thought it would.

100 days ago, my ambition was to become the undisputed mistress of my camera.
I believed that the blipfoto regime would instill a discipline to use my camera every day and - despite my daily distractions - a blip-a-day would keep my lens at play. 200 portraits in one year, natural light only.

I got so much more than I bargained for.

Much more than the camera-confidence that comes with regular trial and error, I found a supportive and nurturing community that spurred my confidence way beyond the technical. You all made - and I hope will continue to make - me feel like someone who one day might call herself a portrait photographer, like someone who one day might create images that stand for something, like someone who welcomes the opportunity to take out their camera and record more of the people in her life.



Thank you my darling husband, my sweet moose for all your support. Thank you for your patience while i find my feet. For endlessly listening to me talk about my blip friends. For looking at Max Ellis's daily action over and over again and agreeing that their life looks endlessly exciting without ever mentioning that we could certainly be having a more glamourous life if only i'd agree to leave the house more often. Thank you for listening to me when i talk about the olive harvest and my friend the mariner. Thank you for agreeing that Andy makes a coat rack look like art and that Matt produces the gentlest most appealing tones. Thank you for laughing with me when one of my blip friends asked if people didn't find me odd when i approached them and also for telling me that it would be odd to ask mama dollhouse to dress up in a 1940's suit so i could get the image i have been dreaming of. You have even patiently looked at all the family six when i know that you have a hard time getting excited by other people's children. How dear are you to agree that Larkyn has the most soulful eyes and that Di and Superhero have the tenderest relationship? To agree that Maryam and Zahra have an enthusiasm for life that is so inspiring? Thank you for not judging me when i wept after reading that Sharon and her sister were so close when you know how hard it has been for me to be so far away from my own sisters. For encouraging me to write daily to cleansteve and rmurang and the very gentle fisherking.. Thank you for not making too fine a point about how hot yoga mama is and for explaining to me what wintersixfour is on about when i don't get the english reference. Thanks for telling me to listen to Catherine Lacey when she says i should consider a book. Maybe i will. I love you darling.


For all my beautiful models, strangers and loved ones, i can't thank you enough. I had never expected to be welcomed with so much warmth and humanity. To visualbinam for his post production advice and friendship, you have become a very important person in my life.
For my dog, who frequently acts as ice-breaker between snapper and model, you can have a special treat tonight (but not a rawhide Bethanne, I have been listening!)
But most of all, for your words of reinforcement, insight and support, for sharing your life and your beautiful images, thank you, fellow blippers.



Now if i can just turn you towards the light, look straight into the lens, maybe a little smile?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.