Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Fading....

I've come to the conclusion that, at this time of the year, many of the most interesting images are to be found in our garden. We don't have spectacular countryside near us - no coast, mountains, wild places - just gently rolling limestone hills and river valleys to the west and the flat expanses of the fens to the east. Both of these can look picturesque - occasionally even stunning - with the right light, but on a grey November day they just look dreary.

The garden however, is full of hidden gems, and has the advantage that I can pop out to catch a stolen moment of soft sunshine. I took a number of garden shots today - a bright purple knapweeed flower, a small snail on a leaf, light shining through the pampas grass - but the one that captured my heart was this fading marsh mallow leaf. The muted colours of brown and gold seemed to suit the season, and I love the way that the leaf is curling up, almost as though it's drawing on a furry coat against the winter chill.

My other garden pictures can be seen here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.