mank

For various reasons I've never really seen that much of Ayr. The first few times I came through with Nicky when she visited her parents we were collected from the train station in a motor car and were generally forced to be driven everywhere we went. If we were through to go out at night with some of her old schoolfriends we would usually head to Prestwick or just to someone's parent's house and do so in the dark. I've managed to squeeze in more and more proper getting-to-know-the-place walks over the last few years but for some reason have never been into the town centre on a blustery day in winter, at least not since my first pre-Nicky visit in 1995 on a rag trip with ESCA during which I stood around miserably collecting virtually no money and freezing my hands off.

Ayr town centre is not a very pleasant place at times. Luckily I started out non-depressed today so came through unscathed.

I think in the future I'll stick to the 'burbs and the beach where there are still plenty of things to take pictures of without the inconvenience of having to listen to passers-by talk about smack and kickings whilst eating take-away trans-fat-stuffed convenience foodstuffs.

***

Assignment-wise this picture is unedited, just like in the old days of Blip when I first started and didn't edit images bar slight croppings to squareness and didn't even know about the Unsharp Mask tool. Luckily I was watching the horizons and ended up with a straight shot rather than one tilted three degrees to the right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.