D'aicí enfòra

By chaiselongue

Seventies

In our youthful revolutionary days Lo Jardinièr and I didn't really even believe in marriage, but 34 years later we have to admit that it's worked very well and we looked very happy on the day.

It was an unconventional wedding - our car had broken down the night before so we had to call a taxi (something we never did in those days) to get us to Oxford registry office. Lo J. was only wearing a tie because his friend Pete gave him his just before the ceremony, saying 'You ought to be the one wearing this'. Lo J. was also wearing a gorgeous green velvet suit he'd bought on impulse months before. I was wearing a very seventies Laura Ashley dress and blouse I'd bought the day before.

We all - family and friends - went back to our flat afterwards for a great party. I'd made the food, my friend Sue had made a cake and my father brought Champagne. This photo was taken in the garden outside. My parents are in the background, my father taking a photo, my mother looking happy, and it's shocking to realise that she was much younger then than I am now!

A friend, John, who had a good camera took the photos - he did take some rather more formal ones, but I like this one best. Sorry about the quality - it was the best I could do with it.

This is a response to Brickmaker's wedding photo challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.