CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Early evening fare

Night has arrived, blustery and warm. I didn't manage a daylight blip, although I tried to chase the farmer as he drove his cows away from the fields behind our house. But all I could see from the woodland was the usual beautiful, highly coloured autumn trees on the hillsides scenery. You've had that up to here.

So I thought I'd try a still life. Helena went away last weekend to Newport, which is an ancient coastal town in Pembrokeshire, Wales, to stay near the sea with Kitty. We have been there a few times, and Helena loves to be tramping along the coastline, running on the hard sands at low-tide. All this generates a bonny appetite, and a ritual I am all in favour of is to go and see Jen, of Jen's Pantry's fame, down at the Parrog, the original harbour-side village of Newport, to grab some of her goodies.

Inspired by eating Jen's version, Helena has made her own version of Bara Brith. But it was impossible to resist buying a couple of these loaves and to bring them home to Steve. She does care for me so well! I had to Blip it today, as it probably won't be here much longer. I prefer it toasted though, so Helena will have to eat these slices. Oh, the agony of it all.

Bara brith, sometimes known as "speckled bread" (the literal meaning of the original Welsh-language name), can be either a yeast bread enriched with dried fruit or something more like a fruitcake made with self-rising flour (no yeast). It is traditionally made with raisins, currants and candied peel. Welsh recipes favour soaking the dried fruit in tea overnight before the baking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.