Compost Mentis

By megatonlove

The doctor

This woman is very dear to me although I see her only once a year.

Dr. V has been my gynaecologist-obstetrician for 23 years. A champion of natural childbirth and breast-feeding, she delivered both my babies. She won't perform Caesarians unless there's a medical need for them. Whenever I come in for my annual checkup I have to bring her the latest photos of my kids whose names she remembers. She has the memory of an elephant and likes to tease me that she's never heard anyone swear as much as I did in the final stages of labour (for both of my children). We laugh so much together. She declares that good food, good wine and lots of laughter work better than any diet in the world. And she's crazy about my lemon-poppy seed pound cake.

When I asked if I could photograph her, her hands flew to her face and she exclaimed that she looked dreadful because she'd been up half the night with 2 deliveries. Nonsense, I said. The smile on her face is always bright, no matter what. I adore her, and I realise how lucky I am to be able to say that about my doctor.

She gave me a clean bill of health and a hug before I walked out the door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.