Me and Max

By grete

A Shared History

Who are we without our histories? Who are we without those lives that are entwined with our own? Who are we without that safe haven of friendship?

When we were 7 we played games in the school yard. When we were 17 she was back from years in far-away Africa, and now we toured Europe to meet some of her exotic friends. When we were 27 we had finished our studies at the same English University, and were now back in Norway, busy creating families. When we were 37 she had 3 girls, I had 3 boys. When we were 47 we balanced the narrow line of motherhood, watching our kids venture into that big, wide world on their own.

We have not yet reached 57, but I know we will continue to walk and talk, summer, winter, sunrise, sunset.

And wow what a sunset it was! (As Flickr will tell you)

I told her to relax, not to worry about being blipped, I just needed to try out my new lens.

When I asked her later about using this photo, she just laughed. I suspect she had suspected me from the start.

We have a shared history.
She knows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.