Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Salmon Roundup

I started blipping before Ann Chaikin, but missed a few days, and we hit the 300 mark together today. Just like Ann, I'd intended blipping the number -- I was going to use donuts to form the 300.

I was walking past the salmon hatchery at Marine Heritage Park on my way to another NSEA work party, when I saw the hatchery workers moving the returning chum salmon up from the lower pond. It was too good a bliportunity to ignore, and I really didn't need all those calories from the donuts.

The fish will be killed to remove the eggs and milt, and the fertilized eggs will be hatched in trays inside the hatchery building.

A few days ago I blipped people fishing for these salmon in the creek -- it's right in downtown Bellingham.

You can see more photos here.

I bet nobody mentions salmon more often than I do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.