TeeJay

By TeeJay

Buller River: The eel hole

I've had a fairly constructive day today. I did some housework (though not too much), weeded and prepared my vege garden so that I can plant the plants I bought yesterday (though not planted them yet), and did some marking (though not all of it).

Kiwilizzie came around for a meal, then after dinner I realised I needed to pop out for a blip. It was just coming on to evening light so I went down to the river at a spot known as "The eel hole", which is the local kids swimming spot. Took quite a few photos, but this is my favourite because of the golden glow the sun has given to the native trees across the river (which in reality are naturally a fairly dark dusty bluish/green). It is taken looking east up-river.

I had good news while I was down there. This swimming hole is at the old boat ramp beside the Riverview Motorcamp and there is also a cafe there which opens seasonally. It hasn't opened this year because it is for sale, and us locals have been mourning the loss of the great pizza and coffee on the banks of the river. The good news is that there is now a sign up saying that it's sold and is re-opening on 13th December. Yippee, that'll be a great spot to waste lots of hours sitting in the sun and fighting off the sandflies, watching the river go by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.