vada abditae

By TomS

Today I took an Iranian friend, who is abroad for the first time, to the Minster.

She had told me she wanted to attend a church service, so I thought it was worth doing properly. Being the first Sunday of the month, there was 'Solemn Eucharist': three priests, lead by the Dean, three deacons, a full choir, and incense - lots of incense.

With all that smoke and music, and the low sun coming through the windows, it was very impressive. This photo was intended to catch the smoke in the window light. No photos during the service, of course, and anyway I tend to get rather self-conscious doing anything other than snapping when I am in company, so apologies for the poor quality.

Update: When I visited Iran, Narges took me to the Sheikh Lotf Allah mosque in Isfahan, which is with good reason thought to be the most beautiful mosque in the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.