Snapping Aboot

By rxpell

Hitler's Graveyard

WW2 Anti-tank defences stretch for mile upon mile of the beaches of Aberdeenshire and as the sands shift back and forth, they alternately hide then reveal items like the concrete block tank traps ... these were cast in place back in 1940 and I guess the guys working on them sometimes had the chance to adorn their works with a bit of decoration.

I've walked the stretch of beach at Newburgh hundreds of times and had heard about this particular block but today is the first time I've seen it exposed.

Created in 1940 by Louis Lawson (born 2nd March 1910) and titled "Hitler's Graveyard" it shows a Winston Churchill looking on as Adolf Hiltler looks up to see a bomb heading towards him ...

... wonder how long till it goes back under the dunes ?

I've made the image B&W to give it a 1940s feel :-)

P.S. You can see a pic of it fully dug out (not by me I may add) here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.