Just looking..

By ccleeve

Voting for a new parliament.

Spent today from 7am - 11:45pm observing the elections. It's really tiring, but but the day passes faster than you first think it will. It made me realise that I don't know that much about elections in my own country - in the last elections I had a proxy vote, and I've never spent long in a polling station, so I can't reallly compare the process here to in the UK. Observing elections in Azerbaijan has taught me about electoral processes in general, and I'll be looking around me carefully next time I vote in the UK. What was the highlight today? Apart from the fact that the constituency I observed is home to Baku's best place for coffee - not chosen deliberately! - I most enjoyed the elderly man who spent ages in a polling booth before stomping out brandishing his ballot and saying 'I don't want to vote for any of these people!'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.