Eyelad

By Eyelad

Make Do and Mend

Although I have a Sony A300 DSLR for best, its size and cost are not really compatible with running about the hills. I sometimes use an old 2M pixel Olympus compact that still works but the clock resets and stops every time the batteries are removed. This makes it annoying for geotagging and Blipfoto, especially when I forget to set it.

For a more up to date compact I have to rely on borrowing or hand-me-downs from the rest of the family. My current cast-off is this old Polaroid i832 that used to belong to my wife. Unfortunately the battery compartment is a weakness of this model and it broke fairly early in its life. I did a repair with epoxy and tape that lasted for many years but it broke again recently such that a further repair is more difficult. The elastic band solution shown seems to do the job though.

The i832 is not light for a compact by today's standards but it does a good job. Its 8M pixels is more than enough and can produce pleasing results like yesterday's blip.

However, Christmas is coming and who knows what Father Christmas might bring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.